Madcaljan21’s Blog

Just entering terrible twos!!

Posted on: April 9, 2010

I have heard of parents lamenting about the age 2. I have never understood this until couple of months back when my own daughter started showing off the signs of this. OMG it is really tough to make them understand things as they feel they know everything and they can start doing things on their own. My daughter wants to eat on her own, wants to bathe herself, wants to sit on the car seat on her own, likes to walk without holding my hands. But none of this she does perfectly afterall she is just 2, but when I insist helping her she would never accept it. Even better she would say ” Dukka nillu!! ( Durga stop) ‘, oh what a feeling. Couple of days back, she was sitting on the driver seat and she wants to turn the key on, when I stopped her from doing this, she was shouting as well as crying saying ” Dukka killi vitta , sorry cheppu ( Durga you tried to pinch me , say sorry)”. I was shocked, she never let me off, finally I said sorry and she came to me. I now know the perfect reason of calling this terrible twos.   When I take her to park , she would slide upside down , almost resembling our ancestors. I could not find a difference between the activities of my daughter and a monkey on discovery channel.

One day I was watching animal planet and watched a dog trainer. When she says quiet the dog stops, when she stays stand the dog stands. The dog does whatever she instructs it to do. I want to try this to her just for fun. I looked at her and said in ofcourse a polite way ” Manasa can you stand”, she did not even turn her head towards me. I raised my voice and repeated , now she looked at me ( a sense of satisfaction) , she asked me ” mm..”. I repeated again , this happened for couple of times. Finally she said ” No ma.. I’m playing!!”. I was shocked, this she could have said the first time. :(.

Everytime when I try to feed her, she will go fetch the remote ask me to switch on the tv. She will not open her mouth until her favourite cartoon character appears on the screen. Even after that she would  say with wierd face ” mamam nallala ( food is not good)”. 😦

Its really tough to engage her for some activity , she keeps wandering around, everytime some negotiation will have to happen. Potty training is a terrible I will ever have. You will not believe , I will be reading the full encyclopedia to her, when she is sitting on the potty. I would show all the pictures , sing songs, tell stories, she would listen all those and get off after the show is over, as if she was watching some kids movie.  I would feel my base is almost not there at all. It would be so numb after sitting for such a long time :).

While dressing she would ask me if that is Dora’s dress. If I say yes she will wear it. If by chance I say no, she would run away. It would be very difficult to catch her, even catching the chicken would be much easier compared to this.

Hotel is the worst place you could ever imagine taking her. She will never ever sit on the chair designated to her. She would come and sit besides us, she would demand a plate spoon, a cup of water. She will be knocking at the plate, sip into the cup ( with a sound of rrrrrrrrr), sometime suck with a force and the water will enter her nose which leads to severe coughing, the entire hotel will look at us. Initially we were feeling bad, but nowadays we will ignore her and keep on eating as if she is not part of our family. When we start back home if we turn around and look at the table, it would look like mini war ground. But she does not care she will proceed to towards entrance like a motor boat with full speed without minding whatever comes in front of her.

Couple of days back we went to temple to celebrate her star birthday, it was a traditional way of celebrating. We went there making arrangements for the pooja, she started scanning the place to see what she can play and what she cannot. She also made namaskarams to all the idols at the temple. I was shocked of such a behavior, then realized she would have sought blessings for all the activities that followed next.Initially she was playing with some flowers and other stuffs. But as the time went she took a cup of turmeric powder, she was playing with it, blowing air into it. I wanted to change her dress , but she did not allow me to do that. Her whole body was yellow in color, no one went by without having a double glance at her. OMG I had to give her so many things to distract her off from the turmeric powder. Finally we had a treaty over banana, which she took in her hands, made paste and applied on her face as mask. We came back home , took her to bath tub and watched the water coming out in all colors.

So after all these experiences I would definitely say it is Terrible twos , but most terrible for parents.

1 Response to "Just entering terrible twos!!"

Lots of reason y this is really good:
1. You are completely occupied and u wont feel bored
2. You have something to write about
3. Both of you get free publicity and might become well known in

Like

Leave a comment

April 2010
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
free invisible counter